The Church Year

The church year is a set of holy days and seasons that are ordered to deepen faith through ritual.  Each church year begins in November with the Season of  Advent, and moves through Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, Easter, Pentecost and Ordinary Time.  Within those seasons special days and services are set aside to remember important events in Christian history.  


The season after Pentecost, according to the calendar of the church year (BCP, p. 32). It begins on the Monday following Pentecost, and continues through most of the summer and autumn. It may include as many as twenty-eight Sundays, depending on the date of Easter. This includes Trinity Sunday which is the First Sunday after Pentecost. This period is also understood by some as “ordinary time,” a period of the church year not dedicated to a particular season or observance, as in the Roman Rite adapted after Vatican II. See Ordinary Time.